California Department of Public Health
What has to be on a dog treat label in California?
Verified September 7, 2026. Figures quoted from the statute, rule, fee page or form.
In California a dog treat is pet food, and its label follows the state's commercial feed labeling rules rather than the human food rules. The table below lists each label item with the citation it was read from, then the order of the guaranteed analysis and what a product identified as a snack or treat is excused from. Label filing in California: yes, cDPH reviews the application, fee and labels before it issues the license, and an application without product labels cannot be processed.
What the California label has to carry
| Item | What California says | Cite |
|---|---|---|
| Required label items | YesProduct name required (CDPH 8676 label guidelines, Cal. Health & Safety Code 113095(c)(1)); species designation required, the words dog food or cat food or a similar designation conspicuously on the principal display panels (17 CCR 19025(a)); quantity statement required as an accurate statement of the quantity of the contents (113095(c)(2), CDPH 8676); guaranteed analysis required in the fixed order crude protein, crude fat, crude fiber, moisture (17 CCR 19025(b)); ingredient statement required, all ingredients in descending order by weight (113070(c), CDPH 8676); nutritional adequacy statement not required by California statute or rule; feeding directions not required by California statute or rule; calorie content statement not required by California statute or rule; guarantor name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer or distributor required (113095(c)(1), CDPH 8676); precautionary statements not separately required by California statute or rule | CDPH 8676 (7/2025), page 1, Pet Food Label Guidelines |
| Guaranteed analysis | YesCrude protein minimum, crude fat minimum, crude fiber maximum and moisture maximum, with additional guarantees following crude fiber | Cal. Code Regs. tit. 17, § 19025(b) (Labeling and Restrictions), guaranteed analysis table |
| What a treat is excused from | Not stated17 CCR 19025 and Cal. Health & Safety Code Article 5 were both read in full and neither carves treats or snacks out of any label item, and California imposes no nutritional adequacy or complete and balanced statement for a treat carve-out to attach to; but the section that would carry exemptions, 17 CCR 19015 Exemptions, is not in the snapshot | Cal. Health & Safety Code Sec. 113095 (Misbranding), the delegation of exemptions to department regulation |
| AAFCO text adopted | NoCalifornia adopts no AAFCO document by statute or regulation; CDPH states only that it recognizes the AAFCO Official Publication as its reference for pet food ingredients not defined by California law, which is an agency statement and not an incorporation by reference | CDPH, Procedures for Obtaining a Pet Food Processor License or Registration, Revised (8/2025), opening paragraph |
| AAFCO edition | NoneNo Official Publication year is named in the statute, in the rules or in any CDPH document; the CDPH sentence that names the publication names no edition | CDPH, Procedures for Obtaining a Pet Food Processor License or Registration, Revised (8/2025), opening paragraph, the only place any CDPH document names the AAFCO publication |
| Label goes in with the filing | YesCDPH reviews the application, fee and labels before it issues the license, and an application without product labels cannot be processed | CDPH, Procedures for Obtaining a Pet Food Processor License or Registration, Revised (8/2025), item 7 |
The guaranteed analysis, in the state's words
(b) The following shall appear on the label: “Guaranteed Analysis” Crude protein --minimum % Crude fat --minimum % Crude fiber --maximum % Moisture --maximum % Additional guarantees, if any, shall follow crude fiber.
The laboratory side of these guarantees, and what a test costs, is on the guaranteed analysis guide linked below.
What a treat is excused from in California
Under clause (2) of subdivision (c), reasonable variation shall be permitted, and exemptions as to small packages shall be established, by regulations prescribed by the department.
How the label reaches the state:
7. The license application, fee, and labels will be reviewed. Incomplete applications cannot be processed, so please make sure to submit all required materials, including product labels.
The federal package rules that apply on top
- The principal display panel must bear a statement of identity as a principal feature.
- Ingredients must be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight.
- Label must conspicuously give the name and place of business of manufacturer, packer or distributor, with 'Manufactured for'/'Distributed by' qualifier when not the manufacturer; street address, city, state, ZIP.
- The principal display panel must bear a net quantity declaration in weight, measure, count or combination; solids in avoirdupois weight.
- Required information must be at least 1/16 inch high unless an exemption applies (small packages under 10 sq in may use 3/64 inch).
More for California
California questions on this topic
Do dog treats need a guaranteed analysis in California?
Yes. Crude protein minimum, crude fat minimum, crude fiber maximum and moisture maximum, with additional guarantees following crude fiber. Source: Cal. Code Regs. tit. 17, § 19025(b) (Labeling and Restrictions), guaranteed analysis table.
Does a treat need a nutritional adequacy statement in California?
Not stated in the text we read. 17 CCR 19025 and Cal. Health & Safety Code Article 5 were both read in full and neither carves treats or snacks out of any label item, and California imposes no nutritional adequacy or complete and balanced statement for a treat carve-out to attach to; but the section that would carry exemptions, 17 CCR 19015 Exemptions, is not in the snapshot. Source: Cal. Health & Safety Code Sec. 113095 (Misbranding), the delegation of exemptions to department regulation.
Does California review my label before I sell?
Yes. CDPH reviews the application, fee and labels before it issues the license, and an application without product labels cannot be processed. Source: CDPH, Procedures for Obtaining a Pet Food Processor License or Registration, Revised (8/2025), item 7.
Which AAFCO edition does California follow for labels?
There is none in the text we read. No Official Publication year is named in the statute, in the rules or in any CDPH document; the CDPH sentence that names the publication names no edition. Source: CDPH, Procedures for Obtaining a Pet Food Processor License or Registration, Revised (8/2025), opening paragraph, the only place any CDPH document names the AAFCO publication.
Keep reading
DogTreatLicense is an informational reference about state commercial feed laws as they apply to people who make and sell pet treats in the United States. It reprints instrument names, fees, thresholds, label items and citations from state statutes, rules, fee schedules and agency forms, together with the date each state was last verified. Nothing on this site is legal advice, and fees and rules change. Confirm with the state feed control office before you register or sell.
Read the terms before you rely on any figure here.