State feed law, quoted and dated
What license do I need to sell dog treats?
Verified September 7, 2026. Figures quoted from the statute, rule, fee page or form.
A dog treat is pet food, and pet food is commercial feed under state feed law. That puts it in a different statute from the one people usually find first: cottage food laws are written for food people eat and do not cover it in any state verified so far. What each state does want is its own instrument. Some license the firm and never look at the products. Some register every product and charge for each one. Some do both. This site prints the instrument name, the fee, the deadline and the label items for each verified state, with the quote from the statute, rule, fee schedule or form behind every figure and the date we last read it.
Check your state
Pick your state, what you make and where you sell it. Every line in the result is printed from the record for that state, with the citation beside it. Where the text we read does not answer something, it says so instead of guessing.
Package size
Package size does not change the California fee. The record says so in the small package row below.
California: what the record says
Verified September 7, 2026Agency
Firm instrument
Applies to a home maker
Product registration
Small package rule
Cottage food
What the first year adds up to
- Firm fee (per year, rolling from the date of issue)$190
- First year total$190
This state charges no per-product fee, so the product count does not change the total.
State feed fees only. Laboratory work for the guaranteed analysis, packaging, a sales tax permit and a business entity filing are separate costs from separate places.
Your channels
Every channel you picked is distribution under the California definition, and the instrument does not change with the channel. DependsA retailer repackaging from a bulk container at the time of sale to its ultimate consumer is outside the word manufacture (FAQ Q7), and separately a brand owner who contracts out every part of the manufacture and distribution of pet foods under its own brand needs no registration itself while each contracting facility does (FAQ Q4); neither reaches a maker who bakes the treats CDPH, Frequently Asked Questions for Pet Food Processor Registration, Q7
An out-of-state manufacturer must obtain a registration certificate from the department before importing processed pet food into California, one per out-of-state facility, at the same $190 per year. The California license covers manufacturing in California; a California maker shipping out of state meets the destination state's feed law there, and most states run a commercial feed license or product registration of their own.
Label
Guaranteed analysis: YesCrude protein minimum, crude fat minimum, crude fiber maximum and moisture maximum, with additional guarantees following crude fiber Cal. Code Regs. tit. 17, § 19025(b) (Labeling and Restrictions), guaranteed analysis table
Treat exceptions: Not stated17 CCR 19025 and Cal. Health & Safety Code Article 5 were both read in full and neither carves treats or snacks out of any label item, and California imposes no nutritional adequacy or complete and balanced statement for a treat carve-out to attach to; but the section that would carry exemptions, 17 CCR 19015 Exemptions, is not in the snapshot Cal. Health & Safety Code Sec. 113095 (Misbranding), the delegation of exemptions to department regulation
Every required label item
How to file in California, step by step
- Find or rent an approved facility. The department will not accept a residence as the facility. Processed pet food, treats included, cannot be manufactured, packaged, labeled or stored in a residential home under its procedures, so the first step is a commercial kitchen or a co-packer whose address goes on the application.
- File form CDPH 8676 with the labels. The Pet Food Processor License application takes one facility per license. The label that would be attached to the container of each type of processed pet food goes in with it, with the ingredient list in order of predominance by weight. An application without product labels cannot be processed.
- Pay the $190 fee. The fee is $190 per license or registration certificate per year, the fiscal year 2025-26 amount effective July 1, 2025. The license is good for one calendar year from the date of issue. A renewal more than 30 days past the expiration date carries a $30 late fee.
- Wait for the label review. The department reviews the application, the fee and the labels before it issues the license. There is no separate product registration and no per-label fee: the review rides on the license, and a revised label goes back to the department.
- Renew each year from the issue date. The term is rolling, one year from issue, and the license is nontransferable. Check the department's current fee letter before paying, because the fee is set by fiscal year and the letter we read covers 2025-26.
- Route raw meat products to the agriculture department instead. A manufacturer solely engaged in making fresh or frozen raw meat or poultry pet food is outside the Department of Public Health registration and is licensed by the California Department of Food and Agriculture, Meat, Poultry and Egg Safety Branch. Baked, dried, dehydrated, semidried and canned treats stay with the Department of Public Health.
What the text we read does not say
- The text of 17 CCR 19015, Exemptions, and any small-package rule in it: not stated in California law text we read.
- Whether any label item is waived for treats: not stated in California law text we read.
- A program page URL printed in the department's own documents: not stated in California law text we read.
- Any fee letter for fiscal year 2026-27: not stated in California law text we read.
Verified states
A state appears here only after two independent readers and a verifier have gone through its primary texts and the figures have been checked back against the quotes. More states are added a block at a time as they clear verification.
- California
- Instrument
- Pet Food Processor License
- Firm fee
- $190 per year
- Per product
- None
- Small package
- No fee tier
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Florida
- Instrument
- Feed Master Registration
- Firm fee
- $40 per year up to 25 tons
- Per product
- None
- Small package
- No small package rule
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Georgia
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License plus product registration
- Firm fee
- $75 per year
- Per product
- $40 per product per year
- Small package
- 10 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Illinois
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License plus product registration
- Firm fee
- $30 per year
- Per product
- $90 per product per year
- Small package
- 10 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Indiana
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License plus small-package product listing
- Firm fee
- $50 per calendar year
- Per product
- $50 per product per year
- Small package
- 10 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Iowa
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License plus product registration
- Firm fee
- $20 per two years
- Per product
- $50 per product per year
- Small package
- 10 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Michigan
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License
- Firm fee
- $100 per year, or $25 for 5 lb or less
- Per product
- None
- Small package
- 5 lb or less lowers the firm fee
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Missouri
- Instrument
- Commercial Feed License plus product registration
- Firm fee
- $35 per year
- Per product
- $90 per product per year, $25 under $5,000 in sales
- Small package
- 10 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Human food only
- Ohio
- Instrument
- Feed Registration (Animal Feed License)
- Firm fee
- $50 per year
- Per product
- None
- Small package
- No small package rule
- Cottage food
- Not on the cottage food list
- Texas
- Instrument
- Feed License plus Small Package Registration
- Firm fee
- $75 one time
- Per product
- $50 per product per year
- Small package
- 5 lb or less
- Cottage food
- Does not reach pet food
| State | Instrument | Firm fee | Per product | Small package | Cottage food |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | Pet Food Processor License | $190 per year | None | No fee tier | Human food only |
| Florida | Feed Master Registration | $40 per year up to 25 tons | None | No small package rule | Human food only |
| Georgia | Commercial Feed License plus product registration | $75 per year | $40 per product per year | 10 lb or less | Human food only |
| Illinois | Commercial Feed License plus product registration | $30 per year | $90 per product per year | 10 lb or less | Human food only |
| Indiana | Commercial Feed License plus small-package product listing | $50 per calendar year | $50 per product per year | 10 lb or less | Human food only |
| Iowa | Commercial Feed License plus product registration | $20 per two years | $50 per product per year | 10 lb or less | Human food only |
| Michigan | Commercial Feed License | $100 per year, or $25 for 5 lb or less | None | 5 lb or less lowers the firm fee | Human food only |
| Missouri | Commercial Feed License plus product registration | $35 per year | $90 per product per year, $25 under $5,000 in sales | 10 lb or less | Human food only |
| Ohio | Feed Registration (Animal Feed License) | $50 per year | None | No small package rule | Not on the cottage food list |
| Texas | Feed License plus Small Package Registration | $75 one time | $50 per product per year | 5 lb or less | Does not reach pet food |
The federal layer under the state rules
A home kitchen is outside FDA facility registration.
Facility means any establishment, structure, or structures under one ownership at one general physical location, or, in the case of a mobile facility, traveling to multiple locations, that manufactures/processes, packs, or holds food for consumption in the United States. [...] The private residence of an individual is not a facility.
Federal package rules still apply to every bag you sell.
Ingredients required to be declared on the label of a food [...] shall be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight on either the principal display panel or the information panel in accordance with the provisions of § 501.2 .
Your state label rules come from an AAFCO model, not from FDA.
Pet food labeling is regulated at two levels. The current FDA regulations require proper identification of the product, net quantity statement, name, and place of business of the manufacturer or distributor, and proper listing of all the ingredients in the product from most to least, based on weight. Some states also enforce their own labeling regulations.
Guides across the states
- Dog treat label requirementsDog treat label requirements: what the label must carry
- Guaranteed analysis for dog treatsWhere do I get a guaranteed analysis for dog treats?
- Cottage food law and dog treatsCan you sell dog treats under your state's cottage food law?
- Selling dog treats on Etsy and onlineCan you sell homemade dog treats on Etsy?
- Selling dog treats at a farmers marketCan you sell dog treats at a farmers market?
- Selling dog treats from homeCan you sell dog treats from home without a license?
- How to start a dog treat businessHow do I start a dog treat business from home?
- Does the FDA regulate dog treatsDoes the FDA regulate dog treats?
- License cost by stateHow much does a license to sell dog treats cost, state by state?
- Commercial feed licensing explainedWhy a dog treat falls under commercial feed licensing
- The small package ruleWhat is the small package rule for dog treats?
- Tonnage fees explainedDo dog treat makers pay a feed tonnage fee?
- Renewal dates by stateWhen does a license to sell dog treats renew?
- Penalties by stateWhat happens if you sell dog treats without a license?
- Raw and jerky treatsDo raw and jerky dog treats follow different rules?
- Rawhide, bones and chewsAre rawhide, bones and chews regulated like dog treats?
- The snack or treat ruleWhat does the snack or treat label rule excuse?
- Pet Nutrition Facts boxWhat is the AAFCO Pet Nutrition Facts box and does your state use it?
- Feed law glossaryFeed law terms every dog treat seller meets
How the numbers get here
One state at a time. First a source pass that finds the statute chapter, the rule chapter, the current fee schedule and the application forms, and takes a local snapshot of each one. Then two collectors read that snapshot separately, from different directions, without seeing each other work: one from the law down, one from the fee figures up. A fact with no verbatim quote from the snapshot does not count.
Their answers are diffed by key. Every disagreement goes to a verifier whose job is to refute, not to confirm, and anything still unsettled is read by hand in the cited fragment before a value is written. Then three gates run: every quote has to appear word for word in the snapshot, every record has to hold its shape and its dates, and every figure inside a value has to appear inside that value quote.
Fees live on application forms and fee pages more often than in statutes, and the two do not always agree. Where they diverge we print the agency figure and say so on the state page. Where a state text simply does not answer a question, the page prints that it is not stated in the text we read rather than filling the gap. Every state page carries the date it was last verified and links to the documents behind it.
Questions people actually type
What license do I need to sell dog treats?
A state commercial feed instrument, issued by the state department of agriculture or its feed control office. Depending on the state that is a firm license, a registration of each product, or both. It is not a cottage food registration, not a sales tax permit and not a business entity filing, though sellers are often sold those three instead.
Can you sell dog treats without a license?
Not in any state verified so far. Each of them defines commercial feed, or processed pet food, widely enough to catch a baked or dried dog treat, defines distribution widely enough to catch an online order or a market stall, and carries no exemption for a home kitchen, a small catalogue or a low turnover.
Are dog treats cottage food?
No, in every state verified so far. Cottage food laws are written around food for people. Some states exclude pet food by defining the regime around human consumption, some run a closed list of permitted products that pet treats are not on, and at least one answers the question directly in agency guidance by sending pet bakeries to the feed control office.
Do I need a license in every state I ship to?
Each state answers that for itself, and every state verified so far says yes for anyone whose name is on the label of product distributed there. AAFCO states that shipping product into a state in response to an internet purchase counts as distribution in that state. The per-state cost is on each state page.
How much does it cost to start selling dog treats?
The state instrument is usually the smallest line in the plan and it varies by scheme rather than by size of business. A firm-only state charges the same whether you sell one flavor or twenty. A per-product state multiplies with your catalogue. The checker on this page prints the arithmetic for the state and the catalogue you pick.
Fees and rules change. Confirm with the state feed control office before you file or sell. See terms.