Skip to content
DogTreatLicense

Georgia Department of Agriculture

Do you need a license to sell dog treats in Georgia?

Verified September 7, 2026. Figures quoted from the statute, rule, fee page or form.

Georgia counts pet food as commercial feed and licenses the firm before the first bag is sold. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-5-5-.01 requires a commercial feed license of any person who manufactures a commercial feed in Georgia or whose name appears on the label as guarantor, and a new application is $75. Every pet food distributed in packages of ten pounds or less is then registered before distribution at $40 per product per calendar year, due January 1. Georgia charges no per-ton fee; the prior year's tonnage only sets the license renewal band. The department's cottage food page answers the treat question directly: cottage foods are intended for human consumption, and pet food and pet treats require a feed license from Agriculture Inputs.

What you need and what it costs

Each row is a value from the Georgia record, with the citation it was read from.
Firm instrumentYesCommercial feed license issued by the Commissioner, one per firmO.C.G.A. § 2-13-6(a)
Firm feeYes$75 per license for a new application, and on renewal $75 to $2,000 per license per year set by a band of prior-year tonnage (calendar year January 1 to December 31, due January 31, with penalty bands after that date); the license fee plus all product registration fees are capped at $2,000 per annum for any licenseeGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-5-.02 (Commercial Feed License Fees), whole Schedule of Fees and Penalty
Firm fee periodYesAnnual, calendar year January 1 to December 31; licenses and registrations expire December 31GDA "Feed Licenses and Product Registrations" page, "Fees and License Period"
What one firm instrument coversYesOne license per firm, statewide, reaching an in-state manufacturer, a label guarantor and a distributor, except a distributor moving only a licensee feed unchangedGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-5-.01(a)-(c)
Product registrationDependsEvery pet food or specialty pet food distributed in packages of ten pounds or less must be registered before distribution, at $40 per product, so the same recipe sold in a two pound bag and a six pound bag is registered once; a product distributed only in packages over ten pounds needs no registration, and its tonnage instead feeds the license fee bandO.C.G.A. Sec. 2-13-6(d)
Fee per productYes$40 per product per year (calendar year, due January 1, with penalty bands of $55, $70 and $80 for renewals received after January 31), and all registration fees together with the license fee are capped at $2,000 per annum for any licenseeGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-5-.03, whole Registration Fees and Penalty table
Product registration periodYesAnnual, calendar year; registrations expire December 31 and the fee is due January 1O.C.G.A. § 2-13-6(d)
Small package thresholdYesPackages of ten pounds or less, tested package by package, so the same recipe sold in a two pound bag and a six pound bag is registered on the small package while the larger package is unregistered and its tonnage counts toward the license fee bandO.C.G.A. Sec. 2-13-6(d)
Small package feeYes$40 per product per year (calendar year, due January 1), the same money as product.fee_per_product, capped with the license fee at $2,000 per annumGDA "Feed Licenses and Product Registrations" page, "Fees and License Period"
Tonnage fee appliesNoGeorgia charges no per-ton fee; tons distributed in the previous calendar year only select the flat annual license fee band, and registered small-package tonnage is excluded from that calculationGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-5-.02 (Commercial Feed License Fees), the fee schedule that would carry a per-ton rate
Tonnage rateNoneNo per-ton amount appears anywhere in the Georgia fee provisions; prior-year tonnage only selects the flat annual license fee bandO.C.G.A. Sec. 2-13-6(b), the fee provision that would carry a per-ton rate
Tonnage minimumNoneThere is no per-ton fee and therefore no tonnage minimum; the lowest annual license fee band is $75 for 0 to 2,500 tons, recorded under firm.feeGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-5-.02 (Commercial Feed License Fees), the fee schedule that would carry a tonnage minimum
Tonnage reportingYesThe licensee declares the prior calendar year tons of commercial feed distributed in Georgia once a year on the license application, and that figure sets the license fee band; tonnage of registered small-package products is excluded, and there is no separate periodic tonnage reportO.C.G.A. Sec. 2-13-6(b)
Label goes in with the filingYesLabels of products must be submitted with any first-time application for a feed license, and a label is uploaded per registered productGDA "Feed and Pet Food Labeling Requirements" page
Out-of-state sellersYesA nonresident licensee must, at the time of licensing and before distributing commercial feed in Georgia, also comply with O.C.G.A. Title 2, ch. 5O.C.G.A. § 2-13-7

First year for a typical seller

Three flavors, every one of them sold in packages of 10 lb or less, licensed and registered in the same calendar year and paid before January 31.

  • Firm fee (per calendar year, due January 31)$75
  • 3 products (per product per year, packages of 10 lb or less) 3 × $40$120
  • First year total$195

Every figure above is multiplied out from the figures printed beside it, and each of those comes from a quote in the table. Laboratory work for the guaranteed analysis, packaging, a sales tax permit and a business entity filing are separate costs from separate agencies and are not counted here.

How to file, step by step

  1. 1

    Apply for the commercial feed license

    One license per firm, statewide. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-5-5-.01 reaches any person who manufactures a commercial feed in Georgia and any person whose name appears on the label as guarantor. A new application is $75. The license runs on the calendar year and expires December 31.

  2. 2

    Submit your labels with the first application

    Labels of products must be submitted with any first-time application for a feed license, and a label is uploaded for each registered product. The department's brochure accepts Dog Treat as the designation on the front of a treat label alongside Dog Food.

  3. 3

    Register every product sold in packages of 10 lb or less

    O.C.G.A. 2-13-6(d) registers every pet food distributed in packages of ten pounds or less before distribution, at $40 per product per calendar year, due January 1. A product sold only in packages over ten pounds is not registered; its tonnage feeds the license fee band instead.

  4. 4

    Pay by January 31 to stay in the lowest bands

    The license renewal is due January 31 and the registration fee January 1. After January 31 the penalty bands take the lowest license fee from $75 to $90, $105 and $150, and a registration from $40 to $55, $70 and $80. The license fee plus all registration fees are capped at $2,000 per year for any licensee.

  5. 5

    Declare last year's tonnage on the renewal

    Georgia charges no per-ton fee. The renewal asks for the tons of commercial feed distributed in Georgia in the prior calendar year, and that figure sets the license fee band, from $75 in the lowest band upward. Tonnage of registered small-package products is excluded from the count.

  6. 6

    Put the Georgia label items on every bag

    Product and brand name, the words Dog Food or Dog Treat conspicuously on the principal display panel, the net weight, the guaranteed analysis in the pet food order, the ingredient statement by common or usual name in descending order, and the guarantor's name and address. A product prominently identified as a snack or treat needs no nutritional adequacy statement.

What changes this answer

Packages larger than 10 lb

Registration is tested package by package. The same recipe in a two pound bag and a six pound bag is registered once at $40. A package over ten pounds is not registered, and its tons count toward the license fee band on the next renewal. There is no per-ton fee in Georgia at any size.

Jerky, raw and other meat treats

Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-5-1-.01(3) keeps raw meat outside commercial feed only when it is unground and not mixed or intermixed with other materials. Grinding, mixing or a feed claim brings a raw product inside the license and, in small packages, the registration.

Selling into other states

The Georgia license and registration cover distribution in Georgia. Every other state runs its own feed law with its own instrument and its own fee, and AAFCO states that shipping product into a state in response to an internet purchase counts as distribution there.

Farmers markets and direct sales

The only license exemptions are for feed made for your own domestic animals, livestock or poultry, and for a distributor moving a licensee's feed unchanged in its original packages or in bulk with the licensee's label information. A maker who manufactures and labels their own treats is inside the license whatever the channel.

Chews made from animal parts

Neither O.C.G.A. ch. 2-13 nor the rules define treat or snack or carve animal-part chews out of registration, and the department's brochure regulates dog treats as pet food. Until the department says otherwise in writing, a chew sold as a treat in a package of ten pounds or less is registered like any other product.

The $2,000 cap

The license fee and every product registration fee together are capped at $2,000 per year for any licensee. A home bakery with a handful of flavors never approaches it, but a maker with a long product list should know the ceiling exists before budgeting a registration for every recipe.

What the label has to carry

Label rows from the Georgia record.
Required label itemsYesProduct and brand name required (O.C.G.A. 2-13-8(a)(2)); species designation required, the words Dog Food or Cat Food or a similar designation conspicuously on the principal display panel (Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-8-.02(11)), which the GDA brochure states as Dog Food, Cat Food or Dog Treat; quantity statement required as net weight (2-13-8(a)(1)); guaranteed analysis required in the fixed pet food order (2-13-8(a)(3), r. 40-5-8-.02(3)); ingredient statement required by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight (2-13-8(a)(4)); nutritional adequacy statement required except on a product prominently identified as a snack or treat (r. 40-5-8-.02(15)); feeding directions required by rule only for dog and cat foods labeled as complete and balanced (r. 40-5-8-.02(17)), which a plain treat is not, although the GDA brochure instructs treat makers to include feeding instructions; calorie content statement not required by Georgia statute or rule; guarantor name and principal mailing address required (2-13-8(a)(5), r. 40-5-2-.01(1)(g)); precautionary statements required with adequate directions for use (2-13-8(a)(6)-(7), r. 40-5-2-.01(1)(d) and (1)(h))O.C.G.A. Sec. 2-13-8(a)(1)-(3) (Labeling)
Guaranteed analysisYesCrude protein minimum percentage, crude fat minimum percentage, crude fiber maximum percentage and moisture maximum percentage, in that order, on the pet food labelGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-8-.02(3)(a)-(d)
What a treat is excused fromDependsA dog or cat food prominently identified as a snack or treat, as part of the designation required on the principal display panel, needs no statement of nutritional adequacy (Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-8-.02(15)) and, not being labeled complete and balanced, owes no feeding directions by rule either (r. 40-5-8-.02(17)); the GDA brochure separately instructs treat makers to include feeding instructions, which is agency guidance rather than the ruleGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-8-.02(15)
AAFCO text adoptedYesGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-1-.01(1) adopts the AAFCO Official Definitions of Feed Ingredients, and O.C.G.A. 2-13-12(b)(1) names the 1992 AAFCO official publication and supplements thereto; no AAFCO Official Publication of any year is in the snapshotGa. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-5-1-.01(1)
AAFCO editionDependsThe statute fixes the 1992 AAFCO official publication and supplements thereto (O.C.G.A. 2-13-12(b)(1)) while the rules adopt the AAFCO definitions with no edition named (r. 40-5-1-.01(1)); no Official Publication of either kind is in the snapshot, so the operative edition cannot be read hereO.C.G.A. § 2-13-12(b)(1)

The full item list, both AAFCO editions and the exceptions are in the label guide, and the laboratory side of the guarantees is in where to get a guaranteed analysis.

Cottage food in Georgia

Selling into other states

The license reaches a person whose name appears on the label as guarantor of commercial feed distributed in Georgia, wherever they are based, and O.C.G.A. 2-13-7 has a nonresident licensee also comply with Title 2, chapter 5 at the time of licensing and before distributing in Georgia. The same logic points the other way when you ship out of Georgia: the destination state's feed law applies there.

The federal layer under the state rules

A home kitchen is outside FDA facility registration.

Facility means any establishment, structure, or structures under one ownership at one general physical location, or, in the case of a mobile facility, traveling to multiple locations, that manufactures/processes, packs, or holds food for consumption in the United States. [...] The private residence of an individual is not a facility.
21 CFR 1.227, definition of "Facility"

Federal package rules still apply to every bag you sell.

Ingredients required to be declared on the label of a food [...] shall be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight on either the principal display panel or the information panel in accordance with the provisions of § 501.2 .
21 CFR 501.4(a)

Your state label rules come from an AAFCO model, not from FDA.

Pet food labeling is regulated at two levels. The current FDA regulations require proper identification of the product, net quantity statement, name, and place of business of the manufacturer or distributor, and proper listing of all the ingredients in the product from most to least, based on weight. Some states also enforce their own labeling regulations.
FDA, "Pet Food" (Animal Foods & Feeds)

Where the sources disagree

A statute reprint four years old

The only full text of O.C.G.A. Title 2, ch. 13 in our snapshot is the department's reprint, current through the 2022 Regular Session. Every Georgia fee, label and penalty value on this page rests on it and on the rules pages, which print no effective date. Amendments after 2022, if any, are not reflected here.

The cottage food law changed in 2025 and the posted rule did not

House Bill 398 amended the Georgia cottage food law with effect from July 2025, and the department labels its posted copy Under Revision while rule 40-7-19 still carries the older text. None of that reaches dog treats: the department's answer that pet food and pet treats require a feed license from Agriculture Inputs stands on the feed law, not on the cottage food rule.

A fee table with a Feb. 29 column

The rule's license fee table heads its second column Feb. 29, a date that exists only in leap years, and the registration rule as officially published reads in packages often pounds or less where ten pounds is meant. We read both as typographic slips and print the amounts as they stand.

What the Georgia text we read does not say

  • A definition of treat or snack in the statute or the rules: not stated in Georgia law text we read.
  • The fine range for a misdemeanor under 2-13-23: not stated in Georgia law text we read.
  • The effective date of the rules pages we read: not stated in Georgia law text we read.
  • Any portal-only fee or surcharge in the online licensing system: not stated in Georgia law text we read.

The record for Georgia carries 14 recorded gaps and 13 staleness flags from the reading pass. Those are about the documents, not about your product.

Penalties

O.C.G.A. 2-13-23 makes any violation of the chapter a misdemeanor, and the fine range sits in the general Georgia sentencing sections, which we did not read. The money consequences the feed rules themselves print are the penalty bands: a lowest-band license fee moves from $75 to $90, $105 and $150 as payment slips past January 31, and a product registration from $40 to $55, $70 and $80.

Three things that are not this license

A sales tax permit comes from the revenue side of the state and lets you collect tax. It is not a feed instrument and no feed office issues it.

A business entity filing or a trading name registration comes from the secretary of state or the county. It records who you are. It says nothing about feed.

A local food handler card or a home kitchen permit belongs to the human food regime. Services that bundle these three and call the bundle a license are selling you paperwork you may well need, but not the instrument on this page.

Georgia questions people actually type

Can you sell dog treats without a license in Georgia?

The Georgia text we read gives no route around it. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-5-5-.01 licenses any person who manufactures a commercial feed in Georgia and any person whose name appears on the label as guarantor, pet food is a class of commercial feed under O.C.G.A. 2-13-1, and the only exemption is feed made for your own domestic animals, livestock or poultry.

Is selling dog treats cottage food in Georgia?

No. The department states that cottage foods are intended for human consumption and that pet food and pet treats require a feed license from Agriculture Inputs. Dog treats take the commercial feed license and, in packages of ten pounds or less, the product registration.

Do I need a license to sell dog treats online from Georgia?

Yes, the same one. The license attaches to manufacturing commercial feed in Georgia or being the guarantor on the label, not to the channel. A marketplace listing, your own site and a market table all count. Shipping into other states adds their feed laws on top, and a buyer's state may want a license or registration of its own.

How much does it cost to sell dog treats in Georgia?

A new commercial feed license is $75. Each pet food sold in packages of ten pounds or less is $40 per product per year, due January 1. Three flavors in small bags means $75 plus $40 three times over, which is $195 in the first year. Pay after January 31 and the penalty bands raise both figures.

Do I register each treat flavor separately in Georgia?

Yes, where the product is distributed in packages of ten pounds or less. O.C.G.A. 2-13-6(d) registers every such pet food before distribution at $40 per product per calendar year, and a label is uploaded for each registered product. The same recipe in two small sizes is one registration.

What has to go on a Georgia dog treat label?

The product and brand name, the words Dog Food or Dog Treat conspicuously on the principal display panel, the net weight, the guaranteed analysis in the order crude protein minimum, crude fat minimum, crude fiber maximum and moisture maximum, the ingredient statement by common or usual name in descending order, and the guarantor's name and address. A product prominently identified as a snack or treat needs no nutritional adequacy statement and, by rule, no feeding directions, though the department's brochure asks treat makers to include feeding instructions anyway.

Sources

Statute: yes: O.C.G.A. Title 2, ch. 13 (Commercial Feeds), Secs. 2-13-1 through 2-13-23. Rules: yes: Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 40-5 (Commercial Feeding Stuffs), Subjects 40-5-1 through 40-5-9, with licensing and fees at 40-5-5 and pet food at 40-5-8. Agency: yes: Georgia Department of Agriculture, Plant Industry, Agriculture Inputs (Feed Program) (program page).

  • Statute agr.georgia.gov GDA official reprint of the Georgia Commercial Feed Act, O.C.G.A.
  • Administrative rules rules.sos.ga.gov Georgia Secretary of State Rules and Regulations portal, Chapter 40-5 COMMERCIAL FEEDING STUFFS table of contents;
  • Administrative rules rules.sos.ga.gov Subject 40-5-1 DEFINITIONS, full text of rules 40-5-1-.01 through -.03, includes the AAFCO adoption sentences (Official Definitions of Feed Ingredients and Official Feed Terms) ...
  • Administrative rules rules.sos.ga.gov Subject 40-5-8 PET FOOD REGULATIONS, full text of rules 40-5-8-.01 through -.06, the separate pet food rule chapter cited by AAFCO;
  • Administrative rules rules.sos.ga.gov Subject 40-5-5 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION, full text, 40-5-5-.01 Commercial Feed License;
  • Fee schedule agr.georgia.gov GDA 'Feed Licenses and Product Registrations' page, the live agency fee statement: 'The fee for a new application is $75.
  • Agency page agr.georgia.gov GDA Cottage Food program page, carries the decisive sentence: 'Cottage foods are intended for human consumption.
  • Label guidance agr.georgia.gov GDA brochure 'Pet Food & Treats, Requirements for Distributing Pet Food & Treats in Georgia' (2 pages).
  • Label guidance agr.georgia.gov GDA 'Feed and Pet Food Labeling Requirements' page, lists the required label elements (product name and brand name, net weight, guaranteed analysis, approved name of each ingred...

Snapshot read and adjudicated September 7, 2026, record date 2026-09-07. 38 recorded facts for Georgia.

Keep reading

DogTreatLicense is an informational reference about state commercial feed laws as they apply to people who make and sell pet treats in the United States. It reprints instrument names, fees, thresholds, label items and citations from state statutes, rules, fee schedules and agency forms, together with the date each state was last verified. Nothing on this site is legal advice, and fees and rules change. Confirm with the state feed control office before you register or sell.

Read the terms before you rely on any figure here.