Ohio Department of Agriculture
What has to be on a dog treat label in Ohio?
Verified September 7, 2026. Figures quoted from the statute, rule, fee page or form.
In Ohio a dog treat is pet food, and its label follows the state's commercial feed labeling rules rather than the human food rules. The table below lists each label item with the citation it was read from, then the order of the guaranteed analysis and what a product identified as a snack or treat is excused from. Label filing in Ohio: yes, a copy of at least one current feed label distributed into Ohio must accompany the registration application; there is no separate per-product label approval step.
What the Ohio label has to carry
| Item | What Ohio says | Cite |
|---|---|---|
| Required label items | Not statedThe seven general commercial feed items of ORC 923.43(A) are readable and are product and brand name (A)(2), quantity statement as net weight of contents (A)(1), guaranteed analysis (A)(4), ingredient statement by common name of each ingredient (A)(5), guarantor name and principal address of the manufacturer or distributor (A)(3), directions for safe and effective use of any feed containing a drug and any other feed the director requires (A)(6) and precautionary statements the director determines necessary (A)(7); but the pet-food-specific items are not answerable from this snapshot, because Ohio Admin. Code 901:5-7-01(A)(1) adopts chapters 4 to 6 of the AAFCO Official Publication 2024 and that publication is not in the snapshot, and because ORC 923.43 is amended by House Bill 433 effective October 6, 2026 with the amended text not in the snapshot; ODA guidance separately lists a purpose statement naming the species and a calorie content statement for pet food and treat labels, neither of which is in the statutory list | Ohio Rev. Code Sec. 923.43(A)(1)-(3) (Label information), effective July 27, 1990 |
| Guaranteed analysis | YesA guaranteed analysis is required on every commercial feed label, stated in terms the director determines by rule; the source division is ORC 923.43(A)(4) in its July 27, 1990 form, which House Bill 433 amends effective October 6, 2026, and the amended text is not in the snapshot | Ohio Rev. Code § 923.43(A)(4) |
| What a treat is excused from | Not statedNo treat carve-out appears in ORC 923.43 or in any of the seven rules of Ohio Admin. Code ch. 901:5-7; the model snack-or-treat carve-out from the nutritional adequacy statement that the other states in this block carry sits in the AAFCO Official Publication chapters 4 to 6 adopted by 901:5-7-01(A)(1), and that publication is not in the snapshot; separately, ODA guidance says chews, bones, toys, hooves, ears, animal bones, ligaments, snouts and pizzles are not covered by the law at all | ODA "What to Look for on a Pet Food or Treat Label", Exemptions section, page dated March 09, 2026 (agency guidance, not law) |
| AAFCO text adopted | YesOhio Admin. Code 901:5-7-01(A) adopts by reference chapters 4 to 6 of the AAFCO Official Publication (2024 edition) and the AAFCO Feed Inspector's Manual (2020 edition); neither document is in the snapshot | Ohio Admin. Code 901:5-7-01(A) |
| AAFCO edition | YesFixed editions, AAFCO Official Publication chapters 4 to 6 (2024 edition) and Feed Inspector's Manual (2020 edition); neither is in the snapshot | Ohio Admin. Code 901:5-7-01(A)(1)-(2) |
| Label goes in with the filing | YesA copy of at least one current feed label distributed into Ohio must accompany the registration application; there is no separate per-product label approval step | ODA "Animal Feed License" program page, Overview section (agri.ohio.gov .../grain-warehouse-feed-and-seed/feed); same requirement in ODA form plnt_4203-011 opening paragraph |
The guaranteed analysis, in the state's words
Guaranteed analysis of the feed stated in terms that the director of agriculture, by rule, determines are required to advise the user of the composition of the feed or to support claims made in the labeling.
The laboratory side of these guarantees, and what a test costs, is on the guaranteed analysis guide linked below.
What a treat is excused from in Ohio
Items not covered by the law include chews, bones, toys, and exercisers made of animal skin, hide, wood, or manmade material. Hooves, ears, animal bones, ligaments, snouts, and pizzles are also not covered by the law.
How the label reaches the state:
As part of the application, you must provide a copy of at least one current feed label that is being distributed into Ohio. Labels are accepted in printed or PDF format.
The federal package rules that apply on top
- The principal display panel must bear a statement of identity as a principal feature.
- Ingredients must be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight.
- Label must conspicuously give the name and place of business of manufacturer, packer or distributor, with 'Manufactured for'/'Distributed by' qualifier when not the manufacturer; street address, city, state, ZIP.
- The principal display panel must bear a net quantity declaration in weight, measure, count or combination; solids in avoirdupois weight.
- Required information must be at least 1/16 inch high unless an exemption applies (small packages under 10 sq in may use 3/64 inch).
More for Ohio
Ohio questions on this topic
Do dog treats need a guaranteed analysis in Ohio?
Yes. A guaranteed analysis is required on every commercial feed label, stated in terms the director determines by rule; the source division is ORC 923.43(A)(4) in its July 27, 1990 form, which House Bill 433 amends effective October 6, 2026, and the amended text is not in the snapshot. Source: Ohio Rev. Code § 923.43(A)(4).
Does a treat need a nutritional adequacy statement in Ohio?
Not stated in the text we read. No treat carve-out appears in ORC 923.43 or in any of the seven rules of Ohio Admin. Code ch. 901:5-7; the model snack-or-treat carve-out from the nutritional adequacy statement that the other states in this block carry sits in the AAFCO Official Publication chapters 4 to 6 adopted by 901:5-7-01(A)(1), and that publication is not in the snapshot; separately, ODA guidance says chews, bones, toys, hooves, ears, animal bones, ligaments, snouts and pizzles are not covered by the law at all. Source: ODA "What to Look for on a Pet Food or Treat Label", Exemptions section, page dated March 09, 2026 (agency guidance, not law).
Does Ohio review my label before I sell?
Yes. A copy of at least one current feed label distributed into Ohio must accompany the registration application; there is no separate per-product label approval step. Source: ODA "Animal Feed License" program page, Overview section (agri.ohio.gov .../grain-warehouse-feed-and-seed/feed); same requirement in ODA form plnt_4203-011 opening paragraph.
Which AAFCO edition does Ohio follow for labels?
Yes. Fixed editions, AAFCO Official Publication chapters 4 to 6 (2024 edition) and Feed Inspector's Manual (2020 edition); neither is in the snapshot. Source: Ohio Admin. Code 901:5-7-01(A)(1)-(2).
Keep reading
DogTreatLicense is an informational reference about state commercial feed laws as they apply to people who make and sell pet treats in the United States. It reprints instrument names, fees, thresholds, label items and citations from state statutes, rules, fee schedules and agency forms, together with the date each state was last verified. Nothing on this site is legal advice, and fees and rules change. Confirm with the state feed control office before you register or sell.
Read the terms before you rely on any figure here.